A Blog becomes a Website – the Evolution of StraitPost

Folks who have visited this site before may observe that the format or theme of the site has changed.  The change has been brought about in order accommodate an expansion in my reason for writing for the site in the first place.

Screen Shot 05-05-17 at 10.43 AMWhen I first began collecting postcards it was simply the delight I experienced in seeing these artifacts of life on Prince Edward Island a century ago. As a researcher and historian I had discovered that postcards were an excellent but often overlooked was to discover the values of the past. Simply telling the stories of the cards about the cards seemed to be enough. However my experience as an archivist soon informed my thinking and I began to see a value in providing increased access to the information about the collections of cards and well as the information on the cards themselves. I moved from disorganized bundles of cards order based on little more than location to a more detailed listing of card information, identifying, where possible, the publishers and the order they imposed on the cards through their own cataloguing.

Screen Shot 05-05-17 at 11.24 AMWhile the old layout of the blog was pleasing it did not allow for the easy inclusion of the different type of  information I wanted to present by creating several pages in addition to the occasional blog postings.  The current format is somewhat of a compromise, retaining the access to the blog but also allowing for the creation of new pages relating to the postcard publishers.  On large devices such as laptops and desktop computers the change is most easily seen on the right hand side of the page where there is now a clickable listing of additional pages, a search box that can be used to easily find blog postings and a listing of recent postings. On pages viewed on tablets or phones these additional features will appear if you scroll to the bottom of the page.  Actually the cell phone viewing plays havoc with almost all of the formats except for plain text.

As a relatively uninformed web user I have been restricted to the ready-made formats provided by the WordPress program. I have used several formats in the past and find them excellent and I suspect I shall continue to tinker with variations. I ask my readers to be patient as I experiment.  While the new format provides the functionality I have been seeking it lacks a certain something and I continue to search for a format that will better present what I am trying to accomplish.

In the meantime please explore the new pages (which will continue to be edited and evolve as time passes).

Author: sailstrait

I am an archivist, historian and small boat sailor. Since 2011 I have been skipper of "Ebony", a 1982 Halman Nordica 20. I sail in Northumberland Strait between Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia. A long time interest in marine and maritime history of the region has resulted in number of publications as well as the less formal presentations in this blog series. In addition I am a member of the Charlottetown Yacht Club, PEI Sailing Association and the Northumberland Strait Yachting Association. I have a specific interest in the history of the Charlottetown Yacht Club, Charlottetown Harbour, Northumberland Strait and the vessels that have sailed there over the years.

One thought on “A Blog becomes a Website – the Evolution of StraitPost”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

CSTHA-AHSTC

Canadian Science and Technology Historical Association -- l'Association pour l'histoire de la science et de la technologie au Canada

Halifax Shipping News.ca

Comings and Goings In Halifax Harbour

Transportation History

Finding the unexpected in the everyday.

The Lost World of Cape Breton Island

Memoirs, Journals and Correspondence from Louisbourg and Île Royale

Borealia

Early Canadian History

Notes from Camelid Country

A travel blog from Bolivia to Belgium via Berlin

Global Maritime History

Maritime History, Broadly Conceived

VERNON RIVER in 1:87

Modelling the village of Vernon River, PE on the CNR's Murray Harbor Subdivision c.1958.

Whisky Love

Insights into the world of Whisky

Active History

History Matters

Mildred Marion Stewart

Bonshaw...Enmore...Lyndale

Island Travellers

Visitors' accounts of Prince Edward Island from travellers and tourists