Another Edwardian Leporello from P.E.I.

IMG_1102BI ended a recent posting with a query concerning additional leporello cards from Prince Edward Island speculating that it was unlikely that a publisher would have printed only one image.

Within a fortnight I was proved correct but in a way I hardly expected. In reviewing illustrations in connection with a blog posting on the Hillsborough Bridge I spotted a reference to a small image at the Public Archives and Records Office. The reason the reference caught my eye was because it was included in a list of other post card views which seemed suspiciously familiar and so when I was next in the Archives I had a look.

“Scene at North Shore, Prince Edward Island” is clearly from the same publisher as the earlier card. It has the same metal hook closure for the mini-card pocket but as the photo shows it has suffered from some discolouration.

IMG_1105BThe card is unused and therefore no date information can be added to what was assumed in the note on the previous card. One difference on the card back is that the wording “book post” and the box for a two cent stamp is provided. This seems a little strange. Book post was a special rate designed for sending a packet of books. The standard post card rate at the time was 1 cent within Canada and to the United States. The letter rate was 2 cents for each ounce.  The book post rate up to 1903 was 1 cent for 4 ounces and it was increased to 1 cent for 2 ounces. The leporello card was heavier and thicker than a standard post card but it appears that the letter rate rather than the book rate was applied.

Surprisingly the images within the card pocket are not the same as for the card discussed earlier. This is a surprise for surely the easiest course would have been to print a common insert and glue it into the card. While both cards share images of the Colonial Building, Hillsborough Bridge, the Post Office, and the Market Building the Winter Steamer card has images of  the Boer War monument and a view of Charlottetown from Victoria Park while the seashore card substitutes a view of Great George Street and a scene on Victoria Row street for the latter images.

IMG_1107B

IMG_1108

IMG_1106B

I was certain that I had never seen this card before but in examining the archival folder protecting it I was astonished to find my own handwriting.  When I was assistant archivist in the 1970s I had catalogued this card!  Of course at the time I still held the view that postcards were simply ephemera and were not real historical documents. On this (and on many other things) I would like to think that my views have evolved.

So, for the second time in two months, I wonder if there are more cards of this type out there. While the cards sport P.E.I. views I am not convinced that they were published on P.E.I. Perhaps post card collectors or card scholars have similar cards from other locations. If so I would be most interested  in hearing about them.

The card is held in the collection of the P.E.I. Public Archives and Records Office Accession 3999 item 7.

Author: sailstrait

I am an archivist, historian and small boat sailor. Over the years have built several small boats, the most recent of which was a Medway Skiff. Since 2011 I have been skipper of "Ebony", a 1982 Halman 20. I sail in Northumberland Strait between Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia. Member of the Charlottetown Yacht Club, PEI Sailing Association and the Northumberland Strait Yachting Association. I have also an interest in the history of the Charlottetown Yacht Club, Charlottetown Harbour, Northumberland Strait and the vessels that have sailed there over the years.

One thought on “Another Edwardian Leporello from P.E.I.”

  1. I always find it very funny to see people dressed in their best on the sand at the beach. I can just imagine that it must have been suffocating in the summer heat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

